Bradford AcademyBronte Girls' Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Bradford.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Bradford Academy and Bronte Girls' Academy in Bradford.
Bradford Academy scores 39 out of 100 (grade F, weak) and Bronte Girls' Academy scores 60 out of 100 (grade C, average). Bronte Girls' Academy is ahead on our composite score.
Bradford Academy was judged the expected standard and Bronte Girls' Academy was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 33.1 for Bradford Academy and 48.8 for Bronte Girls' Academy.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Bradford Academy (38.4 in 2021-22, 33.1 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | BradfordBradford Academy | BradfordBronte Girls' Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | F39/100 | C60/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 29th of 35 in Bradford | 10th of 35 in Bradford Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy sponsor led | Free schools | |
| Phase | All-through | Secondary | |
| Age range | 2-19 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Girls | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,682 | 714 | |
| Capacity | 1,891 | 720 | |
| Location | Bradford, BD4 7QS | Bradford, BD4 7EB | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 33.1 | 48.8 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 23.1% | 45.9% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 45.7% | 66.9% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 58.4% | 85.8% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 2.94 | 4.41 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 221 | 148 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | 48.0% | Not reported | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | 2.0% | Not reported | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | 104.0 | Not reported | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | 103.0 | Not reported | 105.0 |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,682 | 714 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 54.9% | 38.9% | |
| English as an additional language | 23.4% | 59.7% | |
| SEN support | 14.6% | 14.7% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 5.4% | 1.1% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 13.6% | 7.9% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 37.5% | 24.9% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Bradford Academy
Bronte Girls' Academy
Full profiles: Bradford Academy · Bronte Girls' Academy