Bournville SchoolDame Elizabeth Cadbury School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Birmingham.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Bournville School and Dame Elizabeth Cadbury School in Birmingham.
Bournville School scores 33 out of 100 (grade F, weak) and Dame Elizabeth Cadbury School scores 56 out of 100 (grade C, average). Dame Elizabeth Cadbury School is ahead on our composite score.
Bournville School was judged Requires improvement and Dame Elizabeth Cadbury School was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 36.5 for Bournville School and 44.6 for Dame Elizabeth Cadbury School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Bournville School (39.5 in 2021-22, 36.5 in 2024-25) and has fallen at Dame Elizabeth Cadbury School (48.6 in 2021-22, 44.6 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | BirminghamBournville School | BirminghamDame Elizabeth Cadbury School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | F33/100 | C56/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 83rd of 89 in Birmingham | 49th of 89 in Birmingham Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Requires improvement | Ofsted: GoodStronger figure | |
| School type | Academy sponsor led | Academy converter | |
| Phase | All-through | Secondary | |
| Age range | 4-16 | 11-19 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 691 | 767 | |
| Capacity | 1,163 | 650 | |
| Location | Birmingham, B30 1SH | Birmingham, B30 1UL | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 36.5 | 44.6 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 30.0% | 42.0% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 48.2% | 61.1% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 11.8% | 71.0% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 2.99 | 4.05 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 110 | 131 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | 54.0% | Not reported | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | 0.0% | Not reported | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | 103.0 | Not reported | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | 103.0 | Not reported | 105.0 |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | Not reported | 21 | |
| A-level average points | Not reported | 30.0 | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | Not reported | C | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | Not reported | 30.4 | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | Not reported | 15.8% | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 691 | 767 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 64.1% | 48.9% | |
| English as an additional language | 24.3% | 17.6% | |
| SEN support | 23.7% | 8.2% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 2.0% | 2.1% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 11.3% Stronger figure | 11.5% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 35.4% Stronger figure | 38.3% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Bournville School
Dame Elizabeth Cadbury School
Full profiles: Bournville School · Dame Elizabeth Cadbury School