Boroughbridge High SchoolOutwood Academy Easingwold
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in York.
Summary of the comparison
Boroughbridge High School and Outwood Academy Easingwold are secondary schools in York.
Boroughbridge High School scores 43 out of 100 (grade D, below average) and Outwood Academy Easingwold scores 74 out of 100 (grade B, strong). Outwood Academy Easingwold is ahead on our composite score.
Boroughbridge High School was judged Requires improvement and Outwood Academy Easingwold was judged Outstanding.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 43.0 for Boroughbridge High School and 52.0 for Outwood Academy Easingwold.
GCSE Attainment 8 has held broadly level at Boroughbridge High School (43.0 in 2021-22, 43.0 in 2024-25) and has fallen at Outwood Academy Easingwold (58.2 in 2021-22, 52.0 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | YorkBoroughbridge High School | YorkOutwood Academy Easingwold | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | D43/100 | B74/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 37th of 41 in North Yorkshire | 4th of 41 in North Yorkshire Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Requires improvement | Ofsted: OutstandingStronger figure | |
| School type | Community school | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-16 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 388 | 823 | |
| Capacity | 763 | 1,378 | |
| Location | York, YO51 9JX | York, YO61 3EF | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 43.0 | 52.0 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 38.5% | 62.7% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 56.9% | 80.9% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 36.9% Stronger figure | 36.4% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 3.85 | 4.67 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 65 | 110 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 4 2022-23 | 45 2024-25 | |
| A-level average points | Not reported2022-23 | 34.3 2024-25 · England 35.0 | |
| A-level average grade | Not reported2022-23 | C+ 2024-25 | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | Not reported2022-23 | 35.9 2024-25 · England 35.8 | |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | Not reported2022-23 | 12.9% 2024-25 · England 17.5% | |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 438 | 770 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 21.9% | 14.1% | |
| English as an additional language | 7.1% | 3.1% | |
| SEN support | 26.0% | 13.9% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 5.3% | 2.7% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 9.4% | 7.4% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 30.1% | 18.1% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
A-level average points
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Boroughbridge High School
Outwood Academy Easingwold
Full profiles: Boroughbridge High School · Outwood Academy Easingwold