Bodmin CollegePoltair School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
Bodmin College and Poltair School are secondary schools.
Bodmin College scores 46 out of 100 (grade D, below average) and Poltair School scores 60 out of 100 (grade C, average). Poltair School is ahead on our composite score.
Bodmin College was judged in need of attention and Poltair School was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 46.0 for Bodmin College and 47.4 for Poltair School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has risen at Bodmin College (39.5 in 2021-22, 46.0 in 2024-25) and has risen at Poltair School (43.7 in 2021-22, 47.4 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | BodminBodmin College | St AustellPoltair School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | D46/100 | C60/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 29th of 31 in Cornwall | 8th of 31 in Cornwall Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Requires improvement | Ofsted: GoodStronger figure | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,438 | 877 | |
| Capacity | 1,550 | 900 | |
| Location | Bodmin, PL31 1DD | St Austell, PL25 4BZ | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 46.0 | 47.4 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 45.4% | 48.4% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 63.0% | 68.9% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 11.3% | 48.4% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 3.78 | 4.22 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 238 | 161 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 53 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 31.7 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C+ | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 32.3 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 13.9% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,438 | 877 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 28.4% | 33.3% | |
| English as an additional language | 5.6% | 4.8% | |
| SEN support | 16.7% | 15.3% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 6.0% | 3.8% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 9.6% | 9.6% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 25.9% Stronger figure | 26.6% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Bodmin College
Poltair School
Full profiles: Bodmin College · Poltair School