Bmat Stem AcademyMark Hall Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Harlow.
Summary of the comparison
Bmat Stem Academy and Mark Hall Academy are secondary schools in Harlow.
Bmat Stem Academy scores 34 out of 100 (grade F, weak) and Mark Hall Academy scores 42 out of 100 (grade D, below average). Mark Hall Academy is ahead on our composite score.
Bmat Stem Academy was judged Good and Mark Hall Academy was judged the expected standard.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 28.1 for Bmat Stem Academy and 38.9 for Mark Hall Academy.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Bmat Stem Academy (35.5 in 2021-22, 28.1 in 2024-25) and has held broadly level at Mark Hall Academy (37.9 in 2021-22, 38.9 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | HarlowBmat Stem Academy | HarlowMark Hall Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | F34/100 | D42/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 74th of 80 in Essex | 70th of 80 in Essex Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | University technical college | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 14-19 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 266 | 843 | |
| Capacity | Not reported | 1,080 | |
| Location | Harlow, CM20 3EZ | Harlow, CM17 9LR | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 28.1 | 38.9 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 15.3% | 29.7% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 36.5% | 53.6% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 0.0% | 13.8% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 2.15 | 3.10 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 85 | 138 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 30 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 20.6 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | D | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 20.0 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 0.0% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 266 | 843 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 38.7% | 30.8% | |
| English as an additional language | 14.3% | 14.4% | |
| SEN support | 17.7% | 15.3% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 1.1% | 1.4% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 14.3% | 9.9% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 46.4% | 32.1% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Bmat Stem Academy
Mark Hall Academy
Full profiles: Bmat Stem Academy · Mark Hall Academy