Birkenhead High School AcademyUpton Hall School FCJ
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Birkenhead High School Academy and Upton Hall School FCJ.
Birkenhead High School Academy scores 65 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Upton Hall School FCJ scores 85 out of 100 (grade A, exceptional). Upton Hall School FCJ is ahead on our composite score.
Birkenhead High School Academy was judged Good and Upton Hall School FCJ was judged Outstanding.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 50.5 for Birkenhead High School Academy and 65.6 for Upton Hall School FCJ.
GCSE Attainment 8 has held broadly level at Birkenhead High School Academy (50.4 in 2021-22, 50.5 in 2024-25) and has fallen at Upton Hall School FCJ (68.4 in 2021-22, 65.6 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | PrentonBirkenhead High School Academy | WirralUpton Hall School FCJ | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C65/100 | A85/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 7th of 19 in Wirral | 1st of 19 in Wirral Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: OutstandingStronger figure | |
| School type | Academy sponsor led | Academy converter | |
| Phase | All-through | Secondary | |
| Age range | 3-19 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Girls | Girls | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,212 | 1,011 | |
| Capacity | 1,293 | 1,000 | |
| Location | Prenton, CH43 1TY | Wirral, CH49 6LJ | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 50.5 | 65.6 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 45.3% | 88.3% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 70.8% | 98.7% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 44.5% | 96.8% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 4.41 | 6.29 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 137 | 154 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | 61.0% | Not reported | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | 0.0% | Not reported | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | 105.0 | Not reported | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | 103.0 | Not reported | 105.0 |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 44 | 105 | |
| A-level average points | 34.9 | 37.9 Stronger figure | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C+ | B- | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 36.0 | 38.5 Stronger figure | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 3.1% | 17.4% Stronger figure | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,212 | 1,011 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 18.9% | 10.2% | |
| English as an additional language | 6.3% | 3.6% | |
| SEN support | 15.9% | 11.4% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 3.5% | 0.2% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 6.9% | 4.9% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 16.6% | 8.9% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
A-level average points
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Birkenhead High School Academy
Upton Hall School FCJ
Full profiles: Birkenhead High School Academy · Upton Hall School FCJ