Birkenhead High School AcademyBirkenhead Park School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Birkenhead High School Academy and Birkenhead Park School.
Birkenhead High School Academy scores 65 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Birkenhead Park School scores 40 out of 100 (grade D, below average). Birkenhead High School Academy is ahead on our composite score.
Birkenhead High School Academy was judged Good and Birkenhead Park School was judged Requires improvement.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 50.5 for Birkenhead High School Academy and 39.9 for Birkenhead Park School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has held broadly level at Birkenhead High School Academy (50.4 in 2021-22, 50.5 in 2024-25) and has risen at Birkenhead Park School (29.9 in 2021-22, 39.9 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | PrentonBirkenhead High School Academy | BirkenheadBirkenhead Park School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C65/100Stronger figure | D40/100 | |
| Local ranking | 7th of 19 in Wirral Stronger figure | 16th of 19 in Wirral | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: GoodStronger figure | Ofsted: Requires improvement | |
| School type | Academy sponsor led | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | All-through | Secondary | |
| Age range | 3-19 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Girls | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,212 | 767 | |
| Capacity | 1,293 | 750 | |
| Location | Prenton, CH43 1TY | Birkenhead, CH43 4UY | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 50.5 Stronger figure | 39.9 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 45.3% Stronger figure | 30.4% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 70.8% Stronger figure | 48.6% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 44.5% Stronger figure | 14.5% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 4.41 Stronger figure | 3.35 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 137 | 138 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | 61.0% | Not reported | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | 0.0% | Not reported | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | 105.0 | Not reported | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | 103.0 | Not reported | 105.0 |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 44 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 34.9 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C+ | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 36.0 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 3.1% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,212 | 767 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 18.9% | 66.1% | |
| English as an additional language | 6.3% | 16.9% | |
| SEN support | 15.9% | 25.9% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 3.5% | 3.4% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 6.9% Stronger figure | 6.9% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 16.6% Stronger figure | 16.8% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Birkenhead High School Academy
Birkenhead Park School
Full profiles: Birkenhead High School Academy · Birkenhead Park School