Beswick and Watton CofE (VC) SchoolMiddleton-on-the-Wolds Church of England Voluntary Controlled Primary School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Driffield.
Summary of the comparison
Beswick and Watton CofE (VC) School and Middleton-on-the-Wolds Church of England Voluntary Controlled Primary School are primary schools in Driffield.
Beswick and Watton CofE (VC) School scores 68 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Middleton-on-the-Wolds Church of England Voluntary Controlled Primary School scores 36 out of 100 (grade F, weak). Beswick and Watton CofE (VC) School is ahead on our composite score.
Beswick and Watton CofE (VC) School was judged Good and Middleton-on-the-Wolds Church of England Voluntary Controlled Primary School was judged Good.
The share of pupils meeting the expected standard at Key Stage 2 has risen at Middleton-on-the-Wolds Church of England Voluntary Controlled Primary School (36.0% in 2022-23, 44.0% in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | DriffieldBeswick and Watton CofE (VC) School | DriffieldMiddleton-on-the-Wolds Church of England Voluntary Controlled Primary School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C68/100Stronger figure | F36/100 | |
| Local ranking | 117th of 121 in East Riding of Yorkshire | 103rd of 121 in East Riding of Yorkshire Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Voluntary controlled school | Voluntary controlled school | |
| Phase | Primary | Primary | |
| Age range | 4-11 | 2-11 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 27 | 71 | |
| Capacity | 56 | 120 | |
| Location | Driffield, YO25 9AR | Driffield, YO25 9UQ | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | Not reported2023-24 | 44.0% 2024-25 · England 62.0% | |
| At higher standard | Not reported2023-24 | 0.0% 2024-25 · England 8.0% | |
| Reading average scaled score | Not reported2023-24 | 104.0 2024-25 · England 106.0 | |
| Maths average scaled score | Not reported2023-24 | 102.0 2024-25 · England 105.0 | |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 27 | 71 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 14.8% | 26.8% | |
| English as an additional language | 3.7% | 4.2% | |
| SEN support | 11.1% | 18.3% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 18.5% | 9.9% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 6.1% | 5.5% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 11.1% Stronger figure | 12.0% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Beswick and Watton CofE (VC) School
Middleton-on-the-Wolds Church of England Voluntary Controlled Primary School
Full profiles: Beswick and Watton CofE (VC) School · Middleton-on-the-Wolds Church of England Voluntary Controlled Primary School