Belmont Community SchoolDurham Johnston Comprehensive School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Durham.
Summary of the comparison
Belmont Community School and Durham Johnston Comprehensive School are secondary schools in Durham.
Belmont Community School scores 64 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Durham Johnston Comprehensive School scores 70 out of 100 (grade B, strong). Durham Johnston Comprehensive School is ahead on our composite score.
Belmont Community School was judged Good and Durham Johnston Comprehensive School was judged strong.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 53.4 for Belmont Community School and 55.2 for Durham Johnston Comprehensive School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has risen at Belmont Community School (51.0 in 2021-22, 53.4 in 2024-25) and has fallen at Durham Johnston Comprehensive School (57.4 in 2021-22, 55.2 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | DurhamBelmont Community School | DurhamDurham Johnston Comprehensive School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C64/100 | B70/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 7th of 30 in County Durham | 5th of 30 in County Durham Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: StrongStronger figure | |
| School type | Community school | Community school | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-16 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 847 | 1,688 | |
| Capacity | 900 | 1,700 | |
| Location | Durham, DH1 2AG | Durham, DH1 4SU | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 53.4 | 55.2 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 59.2% | 62.1% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 71.8% | 79.2% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 92.3% Stronger figure | 29.5% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 5.03 Stronger figure | 4.77 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 142 | 264 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | Not reported | 183 | |
| A-level average points | Not reported | 39.6 | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | Not reported | B | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | Not reported | 39.1 | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | Not reported | 27.1% | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 847 | 1,688 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 33.5% | 15.9% | |
| English as an additional language | 5.9% | 15.2% | |
| SEN support | 12.5% | 6.8% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 3.1% | 1.8% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 8.1% | 6.5% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 24.6% | 15.5% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Belmont Community School
Durham Johnston Comprehensive School
Full profiles: Belmont Community School · Durham Johnston Comprehensive School