Bede AcademyThe Blyth Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Blyth.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Bede Academy and The Blyth Academy in Blyth.
Bede Academy scores 57 out of 100 (grade C, average) and The Blyth Academy scores 55 out of 100 (grade C, average). Bede Academy is ahead on our composite score.
Bede Academy was judged Good and The Blyth Academy was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 48.9 for Bede Academy and 49.2 for The Blyth Academy.
GCSE Attainment 8 has risen at Bede Academy (45.8 in 2021-22, 48.9 in 2024-25) and has risen at The Blyth Academy (41.5 in 2021-22, 49.2 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | BlythBede Academy | BlythThe Blyth Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C57/100Stronger figure | C55/100 | |
| Local ranking | 10th of 27 in Northumberland Stronger figure | 14th of 27 in Northumberland | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy sponsor led | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | All-through | Secondary | |
| Age range | 3-18 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 2,012 | 772 | |
| Capacity | 1,780 | 1,100 | |
| Location | Blyth, NE24 2SY | Blyth, NE24 4JP | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 48.9 | 49.2 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 47.7% | 58.6% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 69.3% | 71.7% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 58.3% Stronger figure | 38.6% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 4.39 | 4.43 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 199 | 145 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | 69.0% | Not reported | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | 14.0% | Not reported | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | 109.0 | Not reported | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | 108.0 | Not reported | 105.0 |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 58 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 31.0 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 33.6 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 5.1% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 2,012 | 772 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 24.5% | 50.4% | |
| English as an additional language | 3.6% | 4.5% | |
| SEN support | 12.0% | 12.7% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 3.2% | 4.0% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 6.2% Stronger figure | 10.4% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 13.9% Stronger figure | 29.6% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Bede Academy
The Blyth Academy
Full profiles: Bede Academy · The Blyth Academy