Bede AcademyGilbert Ward Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Blyth.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Bede Academy and Gilbert Ward Academy in Blyth.
Bede Academy was judged Good and Gilbert Ward Academy was judged in need of attention.
The share of pupils meeting the expected standard at Key Stage 2 has fallen at Bede Academy (79.0% in 2022-23, 69.0% in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | BlythBede Academy | BlythGilbert Ward Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C57/100 | Not scored | |
| Local ranking | 10th of 27 in Northumberland | Not ranked | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: GoodStronger figure | Ofsted: Needs attention | |
| School type | Academy sponsor led | Free schools special | |
| Phase | All-through | Not reported | |
| Age range | 3-18 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 2,012 | 55 | |
| Capacity | 1,780 | 80 | |
| Location | Blyth, NE24 2SY | Blyth, NE24 2TS | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 48.9 | Not reported | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 47.7% | Not reported | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 69.3% | Not reported | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 58.3% | Not reported | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 4.39 | Not reported | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 199 | Not reported | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | 69.0% | Not reported | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | 14.0% | Not reported | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | 109.0 | Not reported | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | 108.0 | Not reported | 105.0 |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 58 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 31.0 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 33.6 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 5.1% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 2,012 | 55 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 24.5% | 70.9% | |
| English as an additional language | 3.6% | 0.0% | |
| SEN support | 12.0% | 0.0% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 3.2% | 100.0% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 6.2% Stronger figure | 26.6% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 13.9% Stronger figure | 72.3% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Bede Academy
Gilbert Ward Academy
Full profiles: Bede Academy · Gilbert Ward Academy