Baldwins Gate CofE(VC) Primary SchoolSt John's CofE Primary Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
Baldwins Gate CofE(VC) Primary School and St John's CofE Primary Academy are primary schools.
Baldwins Gate CofE(VC) Primary School scores 71 out of 100 (grade B, strong) and St John's CofE Primary Academy scores 48 out of 100 (grade D, below average). Baldwins Gate CofE(VC) Primary School is ahead on our composite score.
Baldwins Gate CofE(VC) Primary School was judged Good and St John's CofE Primary Academy was judged Requires improvement.
The share of pupils meeting the expected standard at Key Stage 2 has risen at Baldwins Gate CofE(VC) Primary School (72.0% in 2022-23, 77.0% in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | Newcastle-under-LymeBaldwins Gate CofE(VC) Primary School | NewcastleSt John's CofE Primary Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | B71/100Stronger figure | D48/100 | |
| Local ranking | 37th of 289 in Staffordshire Stronger figure | 287th of 289 in Staffordshire | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: GoodStronger figure | Ofsted: Requires improvement | |
| School type | Voluntary controlled school | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Primary | Primary | |
| Age range | 3-11 | 3-11 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 170 | 161 | |
| Capacity | 202 | 234 | |
| Location | Newcastle-under-Lyme, ST5 5DF | Newcastle, ST5 5AF | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | 77.0% | Not reported | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | 31.0% | Not reported | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | 110.0 | Not reported | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | 112.0 | Not reported | 105.0 |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 170 | 161 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 10.6% | 7.5% | |
| English as an additional language | 1.8% | 16.1% | |
| SEN support | 18.2% | 16.8% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 2.4% | 0.0% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 3.6% Stronger figure | 5.1% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 4.9% Stronger figure | 10.0% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Full profiles: Baldwins Gate CofE(VC) Primary School · St John's CofE Primary Academy