Avonbourne Girls AcademyAvonbourne Boys' Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Bournemouth.
Summary of the comparison
Avonbourne Girls Academy and Avonbourne Boys' Academy are secondary schools in Bournemouth.
Avonbourne Girls Academy scores 71 out of 100 (grade B, strong) and Avonbourne Boys' Academy scores 71 out of 100 (grade B, strong). Our score is the same for each of them on the data available.
Avonbourne Girls Academy was judged exceptional and Avonbourne Boys' Academy was judged Outstanding.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 53.0 for Avonbourne Girls Academy and 47.3 for Avonbourne Boys' Academy.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Avonbourne Girls Academy (59.6 in 2021-22, 53.0 in 2024-25) and has held broadly level at Avonbourne Boys' Academy (47.1 in 2021-22, 47.3 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | BournemouthAvonbourne Girls Academy | BournemouthAvonbourne Boys' Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | B71/100 | B71/100 | |
| Local ranking | 8th of 24 in Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole | 7th of 24 in Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Outstanding | Ofsted: Outstanding | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-19 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Boys | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,188 | 840 | |
| Capacity | 1,538 | 900 | |
| Location | Bournemouth, BH7 6NY | Bournemouth, BH7 6NZ | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 53.0 Stronger figure | 47.3 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 61.7% Stronger figure | 58.6% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 79.3% Stronger figure | 75.3% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 51.4% Stronger figure | 47.5% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 4.75 Stronger figure | 4.38 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 222 | 162 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 73 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 24.6 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | D+ | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 24.0 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 0.0% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,188 | 840 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 24.7% | 27.6% | |
| English as an additional language | 33.1% | 31.5% | |
| SEN support | 15.1% | 20.5% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 0.8% | 2.5% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 7.2% | 6.5% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 20.2% | 18.4% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Avonbourne Girls Academy
Avonbourne Boys' Academy
Full profiles: Avonbourne Girls Academy · Avonbourne Boys' Academy