Ashlawn SchoolHarris Church of England Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Rugby.
Summary of the comparison
Ashlawn School and Harris Church of England Academy are secondary schools in Rugby.
Ashlawn School scores 60 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Harris Church of England Academy scores 58 out of 100 (grade C, average). Ashlawn School is ahead on our composite score.
Ashlawn School was judged the expected standard and Harris Church of England Academy was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 50.4 for Ashlawn School and 42.5 for Harris Church of England Academy.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Ashlawn School (55.4 in 2021-22, 50.4 in 2024-25) and has fallen at Harris Church of England Academy (47.3 in 2021-22, 42.5 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | RugbyAshlawn School | RugbyHarris Church of England Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C60/100Stronger figure | C58/100 | |
| Local ranking | 15th of 38 in Warwickshire Stronger figure | 20th of 38 in Warwickshire | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,558 | 874 | |
| Capacity | 1,643 | 780 | |
| Location | Rugby, CV22 5ET | Rugby, CV22 6EA | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 50.4 Stronger figure | 42.5 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 58.0% Stronger figure | 46.2% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 75.5% Stronger figure | 59.7% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 87.2% Stronger figure | 36.6% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 4.88 Stronger figure | 3.83 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 257 | 186 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 111 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 30.3 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 33.8 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 15.2% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,558 | 874 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 18.4% | 38.2% | |
| English as an additional language | 17.9% | 18.6% | |
| SEN support | 13.0% | 17.4% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 1.7% | 2.9% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 8.5% Stronger figure | 9.7% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 19.2% Stronger figure | 27.2% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Ashlawn School
Harris Church of England Academy
Full profiles: Ashlawn School · Harris Church of England Academy