Armfield AcademySouth Shore Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Blackpool.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Armfield Academy and South Shore Academy in Blackpool.
Armfield Academy scores 41 out of 100 (grade D, below average) and South Shore Academy scores 24 out of 100 (grade F, weak). Armfield Academy is ahead on our composite score.
Armfield Academy was judged Good and South Shore Academy was judged Inadequate.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 34.2 for Armfield Academy and 34.4 for South Shore Academy.
GCSE Attainment 8 has held broadly level at Armfield Academy (36.1 in 2022-23, 34.2 in 2025-26).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | BlackpoolArmfield Academy | BlackpoolSouth Shore Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | D41/100Stronger figure | F24/100 | |
| Local ranking | 4th of 8 in Blackpool Stronger figure | 8th of 8 in Blackpool | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: GoodStronger figure | Ofsted: Inadequate | |
| School type | Free schools | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | All-through | Secondary | |
| Age range | 3-16 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,221 | 550 | |
| Capacity | 1,220 | 985 | |
| Location | Blackpool, FY4 1TL | Blackpool, FY4 2AR | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 34.2 | 34.4 Stronger figure | 46.2 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 17.0% | 25.2% Stronger figure | 46.3% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 45.1% Stronger figure | 45.0% | 64.8% |
| Cohort | 153 | 111 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | 45.0% | Not reported | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | 0.0% | Not reported | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | 102.0 | Not reported | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | 101.0 | Not reported | 105.0 |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,215 | 576 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 39.8% | 63.5% | |
| English as an additional language | 5.3% | 18.1% | |
| SEN support | 8.8% | 24.1% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 3.0% | 1.9% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 8.8% Stronger figure | 12.6% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 26.7% Stronger figure | 40.9% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Full profiles: Armfield Academy · South Shore Academy