Admiral Lord Nelson SchoolUTC Portsmouth
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Portsmouth.
Summary of the comparison
Admiral Lord Nelson School and UTC Portsmouth are secondary schools in Portsmouth.
Admiral Lord Nelson School scores 54 out of 100 (grade D, below average) and UTC Portsmouth scores 59 out of 100 (grade C, average). UTC Portsmouth is ahead on our composite score.
Admiral Lord Nelson School was judged the expected standard and UTC Portsmouth was judged strong.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 40.4 for Admiral Lord Nelson School and 48.3 for UTC Portsmouth.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Admiral Lord Nelson School (44.1 in 2021-22, 40.4 in 2024-25) and has fallen at UTC Portsmouth (57.2 in 2021-22, 48.3 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | PortsmouthAdmiral Lord Nelson School | PortsmouthUTC Portsmouth | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | D54/100 | C59/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 3rd of 11 in Portsmouth | 2nd of 11 in Portsmouth Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Expected | Ofsted: StrongStronger figure | |
| School type | Academy converter | University technical college | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-16 | 14-19 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,244 | 493 | |
| Capacity | 1,250 | 600 | |
| Location | Portsmouth, PO3 5XT | Portsmouth, PO2 9DU | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 40.4 | 48.3 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 34.0% | 44.4% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 60.2% | 76.1% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 76.8% Stronger figure | 0.0% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 3.75 Stronger figure | 3.53 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 241 | 117 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | Not reported | 94 | |
| A-level average points | Not reported | 29.5 | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | Not reported | C | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | Not reported | 30.0 | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | Not reported | 18.2% | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,244 | 493 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 27.4% | 20.6% | |
| English as an additional language | 9.5% | 2.6% | |
| SEN support | 15.3% | 3.3% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 2.8% | 1.0% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 8.3% Stronger figure | 8.6% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 20.5% Stronger figure | 21.8% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Admiral Lord Nelson School
UTC Portsmouth
Full profiles: Admiral Lord Nelson School · UTC Portsmouth