Abbeywood Community SchoolPatchway Community School

Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.

Summary of the comparison

Abbeywood Community School and Patchway Community School are secondary schools.

  • Abbeywood Community School scores 59 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Patchway Community School scores 41 out of 100 (grade D, below average). Abbeywood Community School is ahead on our composite score.

  • Abbeywood Community School was judged the expected standard and Patchway Community School was judged in need of attention.

  • On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 47.8 for Abbeywood Community School and 39.9 for Patchway Community School.

  • GCSE Attainment 8 has risen at Abbeywood Community School (44.9 in 2021-22, 47.8 in 2025-26) and has held broadly level at Patchway Community School (38.8 in 2021-22, 39.9 in 2025-26).

Side-by-side comparison

Abbeywood Community School versus Patchway Community School compared on inspection, results, pupils and attendance.
Measure BristolAbbeywood Community SchoolAlmondsburyPatchway Community SchoolEngland average
Overview
Our scoreC59/100Stronger figureD41/100
Local ranking7th of 16 in South Gloucestershire Stronger figure15th of 16 in South Gloucestershire
InspectionOfsted: GoodStronger figureOfsted: Requires improvement
School typeAcademy sponsor led Academy converter
PhaseSecondary Secondary
Age range11-19 11-18
GenderMixed Mixed
Pupils on roll1,294 854
Capacity1,250 1,080
LocationBristol, BS34 8SF Almondsbury, BS32 4AJ
GCSE results
Attainment 847.8 Stronger figure39.9 46.2
Grade 5+ in English & maths45.6% Stronger figure29.3% 46.3%
Grade 4+ in English & maths64.6% Stronger figure47.9% 64.8%
Cohort206 140
A-level results
A-level entries74 Not reported
A-level average points32.6 Not reported35.0
A-level average gradeC+ Not reported
Best 3 A-levels points34.6 Not reported35.8
AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects20.0% Not reported17.5%
Pupils
Pupils in the census1,267 951
Free school meals (ever 6)22.1% 27.3%
English as an additional language18.2% 18.9%
SEN support18.4% 14.7%
SEN with an EHC plan5.8% 4.2%
Attendance
Overall absence8.3% Stronger figure11.6% 6.2%
Persistent absence22.5% Stronger figure31.8% 15.8%

marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.

Historical trends

Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.

GCSE Attainment 8

GCSE Progress 8

A-level average points

Overall absence

Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)

Pupils on roll

Ethnicity over time

One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.

Abbeywood Community School

Patchway Community School

Full profiles: Abbeywood Community School · Patchway Community School